top of page

Why Bother? Chapter VII: Damaged Goods


Dear Miss. Fortune,

I'm very excited to announce that I will be participating in the Angelique Masquerade.

See you there,

Sonia

Those four tiny sentences were enough to make my blood boil. It was as if someone punched me in the stomach real good. I glared at Ryan.

"Why would you do that?" I ask Ryan, my teeth clenching.

"Because I can," he replies. "You have to go now, for sure"

That comment made my flinch. The uncomfortable dress I would have to wear and all that makeup that would make me look fake. My worse nightmare.

"CHOLE, JADE COME HERE!" I yelled.

"Oooo! I'm so scared," he says, sarcastically.

"Better be," I reply as Chloe and Jade come rushing in.

"What? Is there an alien abduction?" Chloe asks. Ryan chuckles.

"No, stupid. Take a look at this," I say as I hand them my phone. I block my ears.

Chloe's scream fills the room and Ryan's hand immediately goes to plug his shattered eardrums. Jade saw this coming so she had her ears plugged ahead of time like me. Dylan came rushing in to the room along with Ivan.

"What is it? Alien abduction?" Dylan asks.

Not him too.

"No, idiot. We're going to a masquerade and you can thank your brother for that," I say, pointing in Ryan's direction. He puts his hands up in surrender.

"It's not my fault!" says Ryan.

"I can't believe we are going! I've been wanting to go for such a long time, but no fun Sonia here said she didn't want to go so we ended up not going. Since we are now, I'll get started on the costumes!" Chloe blurts out.

"Okay, you can do the costumes. You know the drill," I say.

"Roger that! A wig and some contacts coming right up!" Chloe says as she leaves the room in a hurry.

The doorbell rings and I tell everyone to stay out of sight while I answer the door. I check who it was before answering it. It was the mailman.

"Good evening!" he says as soon as I open the door. "Here is your ticket to the Angelique Masquerade with compliments from Madame Fortune"

I grab the ticket and shut the door, leaving him outside. I rush to my room where everyone was patiently waiting.

"We have a problem," I say, happily. "There's only one ticket"

Jade gives me a thumbs up.

Oops, I forgot Jade can literally draw anything.

"Here you have until Friday," I say, a bit sad that we have to go.

"Somebody's in a grumpy mood," Dylan says as he leaves the room.

Oh, you have no idea.

"Looks like Ryan's deserves a mini punishment for making me go," I say as I smirk.

He won't know what's coming.

"No, I don't. Everyone else was on board with the idea," he says, trying to defend himself.

Before he could reason with me, I was tickling him non-stop. I never knew he was really ticklish! By then, Ivan was the only person left in the room.

"Ivan...help...please," Ryan asks his brother desperately in between laughter.

"You help him and you're going down too," I snarl and Ivan backs off by leaving.

"I'm...sorry," Ryan finally says.

I let go and do a tiny victory dance by making fists and punching the air. It was pretty fun watching Ryan suffer.

"You think I'd forgive you that easily?" Ryan asks and drags me down.

He tries to tickle me but, I'm not ticklish. I just watch him as he tries to find my tickle spot. After about a minute, he gives up.

"Opps, I forgot to tell you, I'm not ticklish," I say, smugly.

"Yeah, that would've come in handy about a minute ago," he says as he rolls his eyes.

"I'm going to sleep, good night," I say as I push him off me and he lands harshly on the floor.

He stands up rubbing his behind and exits the room. Finally, giving me some peace and quiet. I go to shut off the lights, but a hand grabs me. I reel it in and it turns out to be a guard. One of Mali's people. I recognize him- it was the mailman.

I punch him on the jaw, but it didn't seem to affect him. Although his mouth was bleeding, he still fought back. He punched me in return and I slap him. I was taken aback by the punch but I remained strong. Punch after punch, he was getter weaker, but so was I. I ran back.

"Running away, little girl?" he says.

I don't have time for that.

I run towards him, doing a frontwards flip. I could see it in slow motion; my feet colliding with his face, him collapsing on the ground. Blood was still coming out of his mouth.

"KO," I spit as I walk on top of him.

I search the apartment for any signs of life. I couldn't find anyone. It didn't take Mali long to find me. I decide to look in the hallway.

Maybe they were thirsty and decided to get a drink? No, we have pop in the fridge.

I proceed outside and find the motorcycles missing. Not only did they take them, but our bikes too. I check for any piece of evidence. I couldn't find any.

The sun is fully awake. It's beautiful, vibrant red colour spreads across the sky giving it an elegant glow. The moon has descended back in to its home. I gaze at the sky, trying to sort out my thoughts.

They're all gone. I've lost them.

"Miss me much?" a voice asks.

I spin around. It was Ryan. As he approached closer, I got a good visual. He had a busted lip, bruises along his knuckles and worst of all, a bullet wound. I could see his flesh. Behind him, the others followed. Chloe and Jade came out untouched while Dylan and Ivan looked like they just came out of war.

"We have to move," Chloe says. "Today"

"We have to get you the guys treated before we can do that," I reply.

"It's not that bad," Dylan says.

"Liar," I say.

I lead them inside without any complaints. I grab the first aid kit and open it. There were some bandages, disinfectants, medical tape and finger casts.

"Chloe and Jade, treat them," I say. "I'll start packing our things so we can leave"

"Alright," Chloe says.

I pack things quickly with ease because I'm used to it. It isn't the first time we have to leave unintentionally. My suitcase was a medium, black one. I move on to Chloe's things. I know for a fact that I'll need an extra large red one for her. It takes me about ten minutes to pack Chloe's since her stuff was all over the place. The jewelry was scattered along the hardwood floor. She probably didn't have any time to clean up. Once I finished packing Chloe's suitcase, I move to Jade's. Her clothes were very small and simple. In no time at all, I have all our things packed and ready to go. I keep a separate suitcase for essentials such as food, water and kitchen utensils.

"Sonia," I hear Chloe call. "We have a problem"

"What is it?" I say as I come in to the room.

"We don't have clothes or boy stuff for these guys," Chloe states and I smirk. Ryan groans.

"Why do we need to leave now?" Dylan whines.

"Because you're an idiot," I say and Dylan rolls his eyes.

"You're telling me that you just got attacked by your own father's people and don't want to get outta here?" Chloe asks, lifting a brow.

"Well, if you put it that way..."Dylan says and narrows his eyes in frustration.

"Exactly. Chole, we'll buy them clothes once we reach our home base," I says and turn my heels to leave.

"So this was not your actual home? Only temporary?" Ivan says.

"What do you think?" I ask and Ryan starts laughing as usual.

"OWNED!" Ryan yelled and tackled his brother.

"Ryan, you're hurting me," Ivan says emotionlessly.

It looks as if Ivan doesn't feel anything.

"RYAN! STOP MOVING!" Chloe chides and grabs a hold of Ryan. She gives him a glare in which he returns.

Ooo! Ultimate stare down!

"This gonna be good," Dylan says and Ryan laughs.

Moron can laugh at anything.

"Lets go," I say and they all obeniatley follow me out the door.

We each haul our suitcases with us. When we reach our motorcycles, we roll them to three black vans. I open the back and place our motorcyles in and fastened them tightly so they wouldn't budge. Once it was set, I ushered Chloe and Jade to ride the other car which was a Jeep. They stole Dylan and Ivan. Now I was left with the immature Ryan.

Could things get possibly worse?

bottom of page