top of page

Why Bother? Chapter V: Ignore

Mali walked in. Out of all people living in this house right now, he was the chosen one. Great.

I didn't realize I was still frozen in my spot staring at Mali as if I've never seen him before. Thank god, Ryan had fast reflexes and he was blocking Mali's view from me.

"Dad! I told you to knock before you come in!" Ryan says, clearly stalling for me.

That's when it hit me. I had to move fast or else I was in trouble.

Can't let the cops follow me like cat and mouse.

I decided to leave the room and hold on to the swords that were still firmly steady inside the brick. It will be able to support my weight for only a couple more minutes. Taking the risk, I eavesdrop on Ryan's conversation.

"What are you doing up this late at night?" a deeper voice states, I assume it's Mali.

"Homework," Ryan answers.

"You know that some of our guards are down. We should go," Mali says, with a bit of fear in his voice.

Aww. Precious little boy aren't you, Ryan.

"Okay. We'll meet in the basement then. It's always safe there," Ryan says.

"Alright. Let me get Ivan," Mali responds.

With that, I assume Mali left the room because Ryan immediately hovered over me.

"I saved you. You owe me," he says selfishly.

I give him a death glare. He backs off in surrender.

"So are we going or not?" he asks, clearly dropping the topic.

"Jump," I hiss.

He looks at me as if I'm crazy.

"Today," I say as I roll my eyes.

"If you say so," he says.

"We have Ivan too and if Mali finds out..." I let my sentence trail off because he jumped. I find him on the ground.

I pull the swords out of the brick and embrace myself for landing. I do a backflip just to add drama.

"Trying to impress me?" he asks, raising an eyebrow.

"As if you care," I simply state.

I look around. This time the sun was rising and the moon was lower in the sky. The stars had magically disappeared leaving the brilliant colour of the red sun. Red- the colour of blood.

"What's your escape plan?" Ryan asks as he waves a hand in front of me, snapping me out of my thoughts.

"Follow me," I say, slightly annoyed that he interrupted me for a silly question.

We stop at the electric fence. I didn't have an escape plan, but I was sure Jade did.

I wonder where Jade could be. She never takes long.

"What now?" Ryan annoys me.

"We wait," I reply. He groans.

"I hate waiting," he says.

"Deal with it," I say with a not-my-problem tone.

I stare at the red of the sky for what seemed like forever until Jade finally arrived.

"Who's this?" a boy with blue hair and emotionless blue eyes asked.

"Is that Ivan?" I ask Jade. She nods.

"Ivan, what are you doing here?" Ryan asks.

"Going on vacation," he said. I shot Jade a look.

Jade pointed up.

Mental note: ask Jade about it later.

I look towards finger and find a hole in fence. A small one, but it will do.

"We are going to go through that hole. Do not touch the metal if you don't want to die," I tell everyone. "I'll go first"

I was about to go, but that's when my earpiece blasted again.

"Sonia, can you hear me? Over," a male voice asked. It must be Dylan.

"Yeah. I'm in the middle of something right now, over," I say, annoyed.

"Don't you dare go underneath that fence, over" he warned.

"Why?" I whined. I was really looking forward to breaking free.

"Because-" he started. That's when we heard a voice.

"Hold it right there," a light shone upon us. Thank god I was wearing black.

"Let's go!" I exclaim and jump through the hole.

Now I see.

The shock had taken me by surprise and I blacked out. Luckily, I survived. It was only a moment of pure darkness and I snapped out of it. I have more important things to be doing other than being knocked out. It took me what seemed like forever to get out of it's trance. I hear a faded voice. It was yelling.

My eyes pop open to find Chloe, Jade, Dylan, Ryan and Ivan surrounding me. I jolt up, my head starts spinning. My hands fling to my head to massage it.

"Easy there, Tiger," Ryan says.

"Sonia!" Chloe yells. She hugs the breath out of me.

"So that's your name," Ryan says.

Man, I didn't realize he didn't know my name.

The arms around me grew tighter and tighter. It was like a death trap. I have to tell Chloe to stop or else it would be the end of me.

"Chloe..." I struggle to breath. Dylan shoves Chloe off.

"You're killing her," he says and holds Chloe back to prevent her from hugging me again. She whines.

My mind was messed up and my vision became a bit fuzzy. I looked around the room.

Wait, this isn't my room.

bottom of page