top of page

Why Bother? Chapter VIII: Learn to Share


"It's not like I'm the bad guy," Ryan says as I place him in the back seat. "In this case, you are"

I give him a cold stare. He didn't need to get involved. Mali should've been more careful. He knew we were after him.

"Just shut up and stay put," I say as I slide in to the driver's seat.

I start the car lead the rest of the group towards the front gates. Even though it was just an apartment building, the company was rich enough to afford gates. I pressed down on the pedal and escalated the speed. With my windows open, the cold, refreshing wind of the morning brought me back to life. I had pulled an all-nighter once again. It makes me forget about what was going on. What my goal was.

"You think we can stop and eat now?" Ryan interrupts.

"You aren't getting any food so deal with it," I snap.

"Why am I even here?" he asks.

"Believe me, I don't want you here either," I say.

"It hurts," he says.

I stop the car and get out. Ryan follows. I signal the rest of the group to keep going. We were near the ocean. It's beautiful waves crashing against the sand making a soft noise that reassures me. I close my eyes and listen while leaning on to the van. I feel a strong wind push by. I hear a loud noise. My eyes fly open and I see Ryan opening the van.

"You planning to leave?" I ask him, smirking. "You won't make it"

"I need food," he says.

"There's no food here. It's all in the other vans," I say and he slams the back doors shut.

"Then let's go," he says and drags me to the driver's seat.

I don't fight back because I knew there was no point. I am hungry too after all. I point to the seat next to mine.

"Sit here for now. Don't make me regret it," I say. I don't know why I did it, but I did.

"Alright, if you say so," he says and happily walks to the other side and sits down.

I start the car again. Within minutes, we are on a highway, almost reaching our destination. I look to my left and see Ryan sleeping comfortably. I didn't know he can't pull off a whole night without sleeping. We finally reach the cottage. I open the door and take in a breath of the cool, misty air. The others already reached and were unloading. I slowly make my way over to Ryan and attempt to wake him.

"Ryan, Ryan we're here," I say as I shake him. "Wake up"

He immediately wakes up and takes off.

"FOOD," he says, explaining the sudden movement.

I go to unpack the van. I open the doors and pull out my black beauty. It shines in the daylight. A motorcycle like her would be hard to find. I place the motorcycle in the driveway along with Jade's and Chloe's. I go back in to the van and pull out my suitcase. Then I close the van and pull up near the road. The road would be the perfect escape if we ever needed to move again. Dragging my luggage, I walk in to the cottage.

"Home sweet home," Chloe says as she sees me walk in.

"Which bedroom is mine?" I ask.

"There's only three," Ivan says.

"And we've decided it would be the best if we could have a guy stay with a girl in each room," Chloe says. I drop my suitcase.

"Who have I been assigned with?" I ask, praying it wouldn't be Ryan.

"Ryan. I'm with Dylan and Jade's with Ivan," Chloe says. Ryan who was peacefully eating his lunch looks up.

"What? This didn't go through me," Ryan snaps.

I leave before a fight breaks out. Quickly and swiftly, I carry my suitcase upstairs and occupy a room. I slam the door and slide down it.

I'm bunking with Ryan?

bottom of page